Follow your Passion Sucks as Career Advice…really? What do you think?! Here my opinion below.

I started reading this article thinking that the author’s assertion made complete sense.  For the most part I agreed.  As I read more, I learned that his beef with the advice of “follow your passion” is falsely inspiring.  Apparently, people are leading their career lives in a dreamlike state.  I began to think of myself and my own career path*.  I followed an idea about what I liked or what I thought I was good at.  Sometimes agreeing with what others thought I was good at and should do and sometimes not doing so. Funny thing is, I ended up where I am today happy with the way my interests and strengths come together.  In some ways, following my passion in whatever way I interpreted that phrase worked for me.  This does not mean that I passively experienced a career-driven life, I grabbed the bull by the horns by being active in my search and then blossomed into the professional I am today partially because of my personality but also due to the marketplace and how it shaped me.  Sometimes you need to be passive to let opportunity find you but most oftentimes there was hard work that came before that passivity, allowing you to “follow your passion.

In my line of work, I speak to students every day about the qualities that employers want in their employees.  A positive attitude and leadership are certainly high on the list but “followership” is also highly prized.  Leading can be interpreted as following as well since oftentimes that role is needed and someone needs to lead by assuming that role.  If there are too many leaders who don’t know how to also be passive, they may bulldoze others who work with them or miss out on other opportunities that are appearing to them to explore.  The followers tend to see the path not taken because they have allowed it to appear to themselves.  If we apply this concept to the job seeker, in particular the job seeker who wants to have it all, we might conclude that these are the individuals Mark Babbitt cautioning to take heed of the advice, follow your passion.  Read below for the full article:

Rather than “follow your passion” …here’s what working with deserving careerists who successfully find meaningful work has taught me:

  1. We should absolutely enjoy our work… we do much better work when we do
  2. Rather than insist on our dream job… we should constantly work toward our dream job
  3. Some jobs suck… yet the better we do them, the happier we are
  4. Those with a positive attitude about work, regardless of their current situation, win… every time
  5. Those who hustle and have a positive attitude kick ass… every time

Here’s what else I believe:

Follow Your Passion” is Passive

Passion is huge. I get that. And there are many who work 16-hour days, believing in their passion-fueled dream. Like many others who make a real dent in their crazy worlds, however, they don’t spend much time following anything.

Why? Because the word ‘follow’ – by definition – means to “move or trail behind”. In other words, as long as you are following you’re never catching up to that magical dream in your head.

Granted, not all of us are Type A-holes who jump into everything in “all in” fashion. Still, being passive does not typically equate with success.

“Follow Your Passion” Often Means “No Mission”

In the last week alone, many careerists – of varying ages and backgrounds – have told me their goal in life is to be “successful” or “financially independent”. One passionate gentleman, who met me wearing a brilliant 3-piece suit and a 9-inch smile, told me in the first 90 seconds of knowing him that his dream was to be a “multi-millionaire”.

I asked these potential successful-financially-independent-multi-millionaires:  “How are you going to get there… what is the passion-driven mission that will catapult you toward your dream?”

Crickets. They had nothing.

Emphatically, eventually, like they were channeling Tony Robbins, they all said some version of this: “Well, I haven’t found my passion yet… but nothing will stop me!”

Please, shoot me now.

Barriers to SuccessThis is where “follow your passion” becomes an excuse for “I haven’t accomplished anything yet” and “I have no plan”. Yet they have those viral smiles and straight out of affirmation-heaven false-positive attitudes. This isn’t success… these are big-ass barriers to success.

Executing passion starts with a personal mission.

Who are you going to help? What problem are you going to solve? What difference are you making in the world… right now, and 5 years from now?

“Follow Your Passion” Often Means Missed Opportunity

My biggest issue with those stuck in “I must find and follow my passion” purgatory? They miss the opportunities to see and feel real passion. And they miss opportunities to execute their dreams.

When I speak to college students and those seeking work, I appeal them to find passion in whatever they’re doing today… no matter how menial the task seems. When it has become impossible to find passion in their current activities, I encourage them to help others. Tutoring, volunteering, mentoring, writing and side gigs enable us to make a difference. Even just an hour or two at a time, thinking of someone other than ourselves, makes a huge difference in us.

Here are some real-world examples of those who see passion in what they’re doing today:

  • A 17 year-old works at McDonald’s, dropping baskets of frozen potatoes into the fryer – a nasty job, for sure. One day in the PlayPlace, he sincerely asked how my son’s happy meal was. I was impressed, partly because of his infectious attitude and also because no one, through five kids and thousands of Happy Meals, had ever asked before. I asked him – considering his job also included cleaning tables, floors and bathrooms – how he stayed positive. His answer: “I come in here (the PlayPlace) to see kids enjoying the food I cooked and having fun… this keeps me going!”
  • A 50 year-old man delivers bottled water to my wife’s office. He doesn’t have the most glamorous job; he may not be a successful-multi-millionaire type. However, he thoroughly enjoys his work and makes everyone in that office laugh… every single visit. Without a doubt, five gallons at a time, he is one of the most passionate guys I know.
  • Carleen MacKay, for several decades, has been on every stump, stool and stage she could find talking about the necessity of finding passion in our current work… no matter what the work that day entails. A keynote speaker and prolific author, Carleen’s energy and passion rivals most 24 year olds. At 74 years old, she is an inspiration.

Besides amazing work ethic and being creators of motivational personal environments, what do these individuals – representing four generations – have in common?

Their positive nature isn’t manufactured… their purpose and attitude are genuine. They didn’t wait for the perfect job at the company with the highest profile… they each created their own opportunity for passion.

Most important, they are not “follow your passion” dreamers, always one step behind. They are builders of dreams who live their passions. They’ve earned it. They own it.

Don’t “follow your passion”. That theory has been proven a failure. Instead, live a passion-driven life.

There’s a big, passionate difference.

http://www.youtern.com/thesavvyintern/index.php/2013/04/02/follow-your-passion-sucks-as-career-advice/?goback=.gde_1779756_member_228869187#comment-849810434

ANOTHER ARTICLE

http://www.forbes.com/sites/robasghar/2013/04/12/five-reasons-to-ignore-the-advice-to-do-what-you-love/

Leave a comment